Sojourner Truth with Margaret Prescod

Syndicate content
Sojourner Truth w/ Margaret Prescod
Updated: 1 hour 19 min ago

Sojourner Truth w/ Margaret Prescod - Tue, September 30, 2014

Tue 30th Sep 14
Guest: (1)David Wiley, Dr. Leith Mullings (2) Nana Gyamfi (3) Murtaza Hussein Topic: (1) Ebola, international response, and Africa (2) Evangelicals in Brazil (3) Al Nusra Front and Syrian airstrikes

Sojourner Truth w/ Margaret Prescod - Fri, September 26, 2014

Fri 26th Sep 14
Guest: Roundtable: Tom Hayden, Jackie Goldberg, Dr. Gerald Horne Topic: (1) President Obama's UN speech and Russia/Ukraine Crisis (2) 50th Anniversary of the Free Speech Movement (3) Attorney General Eric Holder resigns.

Sojourner Truth w/ Margaret Prescod - Thu, September 25, 2014

Thu 25th Sep 14
Guest: (1) Nafeez Ahmed (2) Anne Petermann, Henry Harris (3) Dr. Ruthie Gilmore Topic: (1) US and the origins of the Islamic State (2) Earth Watch: Flood Wall Street and UN Climate Conference (3) Justice on Trial Film Festival and Mass Incarceration.

Sojourner Truth w/ Margaret Prescod - Wed, September 24, 2014

Wed 24th Sep 14
Guest: (1) Nafeez Ahmed (2) Rachel Torres (3) Sister Judy Vaughan and Caroline Fitzgera Topic: (1) US creation of the Islamic State (2) LA hotel Workers fight for $15 living wage (3) Lack of funds for women facing domestic abuse.

Sojourner Truth w/ Margaret Prescod - Tue, September 23, 2014

Tue 23rd Sep 14
Guest: (1) Robert Parry (2) Clayton Thomas-Muller & Melina Laboucan Massimo (3) Pro Topic: (1) US announces bombardment of Syria (2) Indigenous activism at the People's Climate March (3) Dark Matter

Sojourner Truth w/ Margaret Prescod - Thu, September 18, 2014

Thu 18th Sep 14
Guest: (1) Anne Petermann (2) Dr. Gerald Horne (3) Antonio Juhasz Topic: (1) Peoples Climate March (2) Race Day (3) Oil and the conflict in Iraq and Syria.

Sojourner Truth - Wed, September 17, 2014

Wed 17th Sep 14
Guest: (1) Sonia Sanchez w/ S. Pearl Sharp; (2) Rep. Maxine Waters; (3) Graham Campbell Topic: (1)Sojourner Goes to the Movies: "BadDDD: Sonia Sanchez"; (2) Former Haitian President Jean Bertrand Aristide under house arrest; (3) Scottish Independence Referendum

Sojourner Truth - Tue, September 16, 2014

Tue 16th Sep 14
Margaret Prescod

Sojourner Truth - Fri, September 12, 2014

Fri 12th Sep 14
Margaret Prescod

Sojourner Truth - Thu, September 11, 2014

Thu 11th Sep 14
Margaret Prescod

Sojourner Truth - Wed, September 10, 2014

Wed 10th Sep 14
Guest: Laura Carlsen, Gareth Porter, Alba Morales

Sojourner Truth - Fri, September 5, 2014

Fri 5th Sep 14
Guest: Tom Hayden, Jackie Goldberg, Dr. Gerald Horne Topic: The NATO meeting is underway in Wales with an announcement of joint NATO/US military exercises in the Ukraine. The UK Prime Minister summarizes the problems facing the 28 nation body as the problem of Russian aggression to the East and the “arc of instability from North Africa to the Middle East.” What is NATO up to? And is President Obama implying that so-named “allies” and NATO members have the same rights to military defense which would redefine who a NATO member is? Meanwhile Putin has put a peace agreement on the table to be discussed with the Ukrainian government on Friday, and he called for more humanitarian aid to the people of Eastern Ukraine. Has Putin outmaneuvered his critics? And on another front, IS continues to shock the west, beheading yet another American but is reported to have set up what some call an impressive governance structure in Raqqa Syria. The UK maybe ready to strike IS in Syria without permission from the Assad regime. Where does all this leave US policy in the region? And on the home front, fast food workers went out on strike, the movement for a $15 dollars an hour minimum wage is on the rise, and frustrated immigrants rights activists continue to step up their pressure. Where do these initiatives leave organized labor, can unions remain relevant and build on the momentum of movements from the bottom up? And the aftermath of Ferguson: will anything change? Also we begin to touch on the upcoming mid-term elections. Is there a strategy in sight for either the Democrats or the Republicans? Panelists are: Jackie Goldberg, Tom Hayden and Dr. Gerald Horne. Sojourner Truth Friday September 5th

Sojourner Truth - Thu, September 4, 2014

Thu 4th Sep 14
Guest: Rod Coronado, David Gibbs, David Wiley Topic: President Obama joins the NATO meeting underway in Wales. What is the history and significance of NATO? How is it funded? What role is NATO playing in the proxy war now on-going in the Ukraine? Our guest is Professor David Gibbs, author of “First Do No Harm: Humanitarian Intervention and the Destruction of Yugoslavia.” He has written extensively on NATO. And the US is increasing its military presence in Africa; from AFRICOM to new Drone bases. What’s going on? We are joined by Professor David Wiley Director of the African Studies Center for Michigan State University and former President of the African Studies Association. Also, Rod Coronado, an Indigenous environmentalist best known for his direct action activism protecting wolves and whales is this week’s “Earth Watch” guest. Sojourner Truth Thursday September 4th

Sojourner Truth - Wed, September 3, 2014

Wed 3rd Sep 14
Guest: Alice Slater, Irving Joyner, Maru Mora Villalpando Topic: Ukraine/NATO, Moral Mondays, Immigration hunger strikes

Sojourner Truth - Tue, September 2, 2014

Tue 2nd Sep 14
Guest: Michael Zweig, Slobodan Dimitrov Topic: Labor Day 2014

Sojourner Truth - Fri, August 29, 2014

Fri 29th Aug 14
Margaret Prescod

Sojourner Truth - Thu, August 28, 2014

Thu 28th Aug 14
Margaret Prescod

Sojourner Truth - Wed, August 27, 2014

Wed 27th Aug 14
Guest: Amanda Alexander, Sojourner Goes to the Movies Topic: Project WHAT, We’re Here and Talking, a new initiative giving voice to the children of incarcerated parents. We speak to Amanda Alexander, Soros Justice Fellow and Director of the Prison & Family Justice Project at University of Michigan Law School about her work helping a too often neglected part of society. And, another edition of Sojourner Goes to the Movies with S. Pearl Sharp. This week the PBS documentary“15 to Life: Kenneth’s Story” The United States is the only country in the world to regularly incarcerate children for life. To what end does such a brutal sentence serve?